Author Topic: Big Blue - 1991 LWB  (Read 6509 times)

Sedole

• View Profile
Big Blue - 1991 LWB
« on: October 30, 2017, 11:36:26 AM »
Hey all!

I'm new to the Montero community and 4wd vehicles in general, but have been wanting to get into something 4wd for some time now.  I wanted a truck for light wheeling with friends, winter trips to ski resorts, and transporting my dog, Axe.  I ended up with a Montero because 1) price was right (I'm in dental school and have taken on way more loans that I care to think about), 2) I love having something you just don't see everyday, 3) LR discovery seemed like too much of a headache, and 4) I love the retro looks of the gen1 Montero and the stoutness of the drivetrain. 

Here's a brief synopsis to bring y'all up to where I currently am with the truck:

Fast forward to April 2017, and I found my truck.  1991 LWB LS so headlight washers, sunroof, bouncy driver seat, and rear LSD  8).  4.63 gears.  2 owner vehicle, with the 2nd owner having purchased it from the OG owner in 1994.  The truck ran but had been sitting for 8 years as the PO couldn't get it to pass smog after an engine swap.  172,000 miles on the clock (unknown on swap) and the owner couldn't recall ever even using the 4wd.  The truck was in great condition with the exceptions being the rusted out moonroof track and the stench/filth/cigarette/wet dog that had perpetrated the inside.  Since the truck ran so great, I got a trip permit, changed oil and coolant, and drove her 200 miles home without any issues.

Immediately I fell in love with the truck.  Coming from a background of lowered cars, I now totally understand why people love trucks so much!  The only thing bothering me was all the blue!  Seriously, everything in this thing is blue.  The paint, the seats, the carpet, the dash...even the windows have crappy blue tint.

First order of business was to de-filth the truck and replace the rusted moonroof track and get rid of some blue: