Author Topic: Toyota transmission?  (Read 2232 times)

dieselrider

• I'm new here!
    • View Profile
Toyota transmission?
« on: January 04, 2018, 03:14:24 PM »
Hey guys im glad i found this forum...seems as if there are very few of us out there (compared to the Toyota and jeep guys)...I'm fairly new to the Mitsubishi club, however Ive always known they were bomber rigs...so i made the leap from Toyota.   
So I have a question about the Toyota transmission referred to in the ADD's buyers guide that said  "Same transmission as many Toyota vehicles" for the Gen2 .
The reason why i ask is that I've done 3 Mercedes om617 diesel conversions to toyota transmissions, and now see the possibility for our montero's if this is true. 
The adapters available for the toyota transmissions are for H series, R150's, or the W56's... are any of these transmissions the same as my V5MT1 as stated on the plate on my firewall?  I understand if the bellhousing might be different, and if so is the Mitsubishi bellhousing removable or is it one unit?

Shovel

• Administrator
  • POTATO
    • View Profile
    • Stuff page updated regularly!
Re: Toyota transmission?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2018, 03:31:03 PM »
Gen 2 after 1993 started using a version of the AW4 also designated A340 or 30-40LE

dieselrider

• I'm new here!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2018, 03:56:26 PM »
thanks Shovel, great info on the AT's...however i should have specified Manual transmission.  Is there another make and model # for the MT's other than V5MT1?   thanks

Shovel

• Administrator
  • POTATO
    • View Profile
    • Stuff page updated regularly!
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2018, 04:27:41 PM »
thanks Shovel, great info on the AT's...however i should have specified Manual transmission.  Is there another make and model # for the MT's other than V5MT1?   thanks