Author Topic: Rebuilding a 3.5L SOHC motor, or Replacing it - 3Gen Montero  (Read 2196 times)

nwoods

• I'm new here!
    • View Profile
Hello all, some may know me from ExpeditionPortal. I am a veteran off road guide, and extremely under informed novice mechanic.  I am currently working on my 3rd Montero, a 2002 Gen 3.  Previously I had a 1991 Gen 2 and a 1998 Gen 2.5....and a Land Rover LR3 and a Jeep LJ Rubicon.   

My current 3rd Monty does not run.  I bought it with a seized engine.  It has 154,000 miles on the rig, and looks to have been well maintained (or at least frequently), although not by a very competent shop.  It recently had a new radiator put in, along with a new timing belt, idler pulley, tensioner, water pump, spark plugs, head gaskets, and rebuilt cylinder heads.   4 days after the previous owner put all that money into it, it died on the freeway and has not run again.

I bought it pretty cheap ($1,000) and trailered it home as a new project vehicle with the goal of turning it into my 16 year old daughters first car.  My all up budget is $3,000.

First step was to check the timing belt assembly, and it looks fine.  Next I drained the oil and Oh Crap!  No oil left in the engine.  Just a dribble came out.  There is evidence of significant leakage and build up of oily grime on the lower end.  5 quarts worth? I dunno....

I removed the passenger side cylinder head to see what I could see, and I found small metallic shavings above the pistons in cylinders 1 and 3.  A split spark plug in Cylinder #3.   I think the valves are okay, but I'm not really sure. I don't exactly know what I am looking at!   (remember, no knowledge base to pull from).